DIY Natural Lipbalm Recipe

25 Juin

lipbalm finishN

Hello gorgeous people!

After opening my eyes about the bad ingredients the “beauty industry”was using in our daily products, I started to make my own. I am a fervent user of lipbalms, I was so crazy about them that I started to bring one back from every country I was traveling to ahah! Until I started to make my own and stopped the crazy addiction!

Honestly, since I’ve been using natural homemade lipbalms, my lips are better. I don’t need to put on lipbalm all the time anymore, the natural and good ingredients help my lips being moist and healthy. They regulate themselves better and don’t dry out because of bad ingredients. Yes, It’s a vicious circle, apply bad lipbalm will feel good for a little bit until your lips need more because they don’t get feed well enough to be healthier. You get my point, I stop my rant and get to the recipe!

Super easy recipe to make a natural lipbalm:

Ingredients:

Lipbalm 2N

1tsp carrier oil: avocado (super nourishing), coconut oil, olive oil, sweet almond organic or cold pressed to get all the benefits of the oil.

1tsp Beeswax – I use white or yellow organic beeswax

1tsp Shea Butter

1drop liquid honey – optional

4 drops of essential oil – optional

Before starting, sterilize your ustensils.

Why these ingredients?

Shea Butter: Protects from sun damage, moisturizing and nourishing, soothing, scaring, regenerating

Olive/Avocado/Coconut/Sweet almond oil: moisturizing and nourishing

Beeswax: Thickens and adds texture to balms and creams.

Honey: Soothing, moisturizing, nourishing. Healing, scaring and regenerating.

How to make it?

lipbalm collageN

  1. In a “bain-marie” bowl, melt the oil + shea butter + beeswax.
  2. When it’s liquid, you have the option to add some honey or not.
  3. Stir well.
  4. Take of the heat and add the essential oils if wanted.
  5. Pour in a stick or little container.
  6. Put in the fridge for a few hours to cool down and get hard.

My first, I used sweet almond oil, honey and lavender (lavandula angustifolia) essential oil. Now I just use coconut oil and shea butter and it’s simple and perfect for my lips.

You can also add some natural coloring or fragances. Recently I made some with red coloring and strawberry flavour. They are delicious and great to use as a blush as well!

An advice: keep all your lipbalms and lipsticks containers and tubes so you can re-use them.

Voilà! You made your first lipbalm. It’s easy and harmless to us or the nature.

Have a good day,

Oce

Laisser un commentaire